Master Teacher Award 2020

Elsevier, the world's leading health science information provider, is pleased to partner with the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES), to present the sixteenth annual Master Teacher Award!

The Master Teacher Award recognizes the work of an outstanding allied health faculty member who shows exceptional skill, innovation, and effectiveness in regard to promoting student learning, professionalism and self-confidence.

Examples of suitable areas of innovation include, but are not limited to:

  • Active teaching methods to engage learners
  • Successful practices for positively impacting student retention
  • Innovative integration of clinical experiences
  • Unique use of multimedia, technology, e-learning tools, or simulations
  • Innovative educational strategies for instilling soft skills, such as professionalism, in students

One winning entry will be selected by representatives from Elsevier and ABHES. The recipient of the Master Teacher Award 2020 will attend the 17th Annual National Conference on Allied Health Education at the Hyatt Regency located in Houston, Texas, on March 4 - 6, 2020 as a guest* of Elsevier and ABHES. The winner will present his or her winning practice to attendees during the Awards Ceremony. In addition, the recipient will receive a $500 cash prize.

*Includes conference registration fee, airfare, and hotel.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Full- or part-time teachers in health careers programs at ABHES-accredited schools are eligible for the Master Teacher Award.
  • Teachers may be nominated by the School Director, Director of Education, or Program Director.
  • By submitting a best practice idea, the school, administrator, and teacher agree to allow Elsevier and ABHES to publish the entries to share the practice with other health careers educators.
  • The winner agrees to attend the 2020 National Conference and present the winning practice to conference attendees as specified above.

Submission Guidelines

  • Entries should be submitted using the entry form on the right.
  • Entries are limited to one nomination per school campus. Schools exceeding four or more campuses will be limited to three nominations.
  • Entries must be received by December 3, 2019.
  • The 2020 Master Teacher Award winner will be notified by December 31, 2019. Other applicants will be contacted by January 6, 2020.

Past Winners

  • Migdalia Ransberger, Corinthian Colleges
  • Cindy Lundquist, Kaplan Higher Education
  • Shirley Jelmo, Pima Medical Institute
  • Andrea Dorn, Pima Medical Institute
  • Krista Kippenberger, Allied College
  • David McCreight, American Career College
  • Toni Bethel, Community Care College
  • Christine Dzoga, Illinois School of Health Careers
  • Tambre' Ross, Heritage College
  • Lauren Ramirez, Rasmussen College
  • Christine Sproles, Fortis Institute
  • Dr. AKM Uddin, Mandl College
  • Mike Hawkes, Pima Medical Institute
  • Charlotte Swenson, The College of Health Care Professions
  • Dr. Janice Lwin, American Career College


Please contact Lauren Kemp at [email protected] or (314) 447-8339.

Complete one entry form per submission.

Please use the submission form below and include all relevant information in the fields provided.

Thank you

We have received your nomination for the Master Teacher Award 2020

Elsevier and ABHES look forward to seeing you at the National Conference on Allied Health Education in Houston, TX on March 4 – 6, 2020.